Skip to main content

The Society for Classical Studies (SCS) invites college and university departments offering programs in Classical Studies, Ancient Mediterranean, and Greek and Roman Studies to become departmental members. The Society instituted this category of membership as a way of giving recognition to those departments that are willing to support the entire field while they do the essential work of passing on an understanding of antiquity to each new generation of students. The SCS will issue outstanding achievement awards to students designated by departments at all membership levels.

Departmental member dues will be used to support the Society and its programs.

See the 2024 Departmental Membership form here: 2024 Departmental Membership

Departments may select a membership category (Levels 1-3):

Organizations other than academic departments that support the study of the ancient Mediterranean may become departmental members upon approval by the SCS Board of Directors.

Please note: Departmental membership is in no way contingent on or a prerequisite for placing a job ad. These processes are entirely separate.

2023 Departmental Members

Acadia University

Amherst College

Brock University

Classical Association of the Middle West and South

Colby College

Colorado College

Dalhousie University

Denison University

Emory University

Grand Valley State University

Grinnell College

Hamilton College

Harvard University

Indiana University

Kalamazoo College

Loyola University Chicago

Monmouth College

Northwestern University

Oberlin College

St. Olaf College

Trinity University

Union College

University of Arizona

University of Cincinnati

University of Dallas

University of Georgia

University of Illinois at Chicago

University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

University of Kansas

University of Manitoba

University of Michigan

University of Mississippi

University of Missouri

University of Texas at Austin

University of Vermont

University of Victoria

University of Virginia

University of Washington

Virginia Wesleyan University

Wake Forest University

Washington University in St. Louis