Skip to main content

The American Philological Association (APA) will present the following awards at the Plenary Session of its upcoming 142nd Annual Meeting. The Plenary Session will take place at 4:30 p.m. on Saturday, January 8, 2011, in the San Antonio Rivercenter Hotel. Full citations for these award winners will no longer be read at the Session proper but will be published in mid-December and will also be available as handouts at the Session.

President’s Award (honoring an individual, group, or organization outside of the Classics profession that has made significant contributions to advancing public appreciation and awareness of Classical antiquity)

Garry Wills, Northwestern University (emeritus), for a distinguished career as one of the United States’ most prominent and respected intellectuals and as a voice for the importance of the classical tradition in Western culture.

Charles J. Goodwin Award of Merit (for an outstanding contribution to classical scholarship published by a member of the Association within the preceding three years)

John F. Miller, University of Virginia, Apollo, Augustus, and the Poets (Cambridge University Press)

Outreach Prize (for outstanding work by an APA member or members that makes an aspect of classical antiquity available and attractive to an audience other than classics scholars or students)

Peter Meineck, Aquila Theatre Company/New York University, Page and Stage: the Power of the IliadToday

Awards for Excellence in the Teaching of Classics at the College Level

Peter Anderson, Grand Valley State University

Nita Krevans, University of Minnesota

Award for Excellence in Precollegiate Teaching

Max Gabrielson, Wilton High School, Wilton, CT

Adam D. Blistein
Executive Director
December 6, 2010