The Charles J. Goodwin Award of Merit

The Charles J. Goodwin Awards of Merit, three prizes given annually, are named in honor of a long-time member and generous benefactor of the Society for Classical Studies.  They are the only honors for scholarly achievement given by the Society.  The awards are presented at the Annual Meeting for an outstanding contribution to classical scholarship published by a member of the Society during the three years before the current calendar year, i.e., in this case, 2018, 2019, and 2020.  Candidates to be considered must have been continuous members of the SCS continuously for the three previous years (since 2018). The SCS Office will verify the membership of authors.

The works chosen to receive the award may be books, monographs, or articles, provided that they have not appeared in substantially the same form in earlier publications.  They are selected by the Committee on the C. J. Goodwin Award of Merit, which consists of five elected members. In 2013 the SCS Board of Directors mandated the Committee make three awards each year.  The Committee welcomes nominations in all areas of classical studies.  A list of previous recipients of the Award appears here

Letters of nomination, which may be submitted by the author, are due by March 29, 2021, and should be sent via email to Executive Director Helen Cullyer (  

Publishers wishing books to be considered by the Committee should send five copies to the Society by the deadline of March 29, 2021Please note that there are now 5 members of the selection committee. This year, we will accept ebooks or physical copies. Publishers sending ebooks should request the addresses of committee members from the Executive Director ( Publishers wishing to send physical books must contact the Executive Director ( prior to shipping books to get instructions on the timing, mailing address, and carrier as deliveries are not always reliable and timely during the pandemic.

Share This Page

© 2020, Society for Classical Studies Privacy Policy