Skip to main content

In 2024 the Society for Classical Studies (SCS) will again award the David D. and Rosemary H. Coffin Fellowship for study and travel in classical lands. The Fellowship was established in 2004 by the friends and students of David and Rosemary Coffin to honor the skill, devotion, learning, and kindness with which they educated students at Phillips Exeter Academy for more than thirty years.

The Fellowship is intended to recognize secondary-school teachers of Greek or Latin who are as dedicated to their students as the Coffins themselves by giving them the opportunity to enrich their teaching and their lives through direct acquaintance with the classical world. It will support study in classical lands (not limited to Greece and Italy); the recipient may use it to attend an educational program in (e.g. American Academy, American School) or to undertake an individual plan of study or research. It may be used either for summer study or during a sabbatical leave, and it may be used to supplement other awards or prizes.

Candidates for the Fellowship must have been teaching Latin or Ancient Greek at the secondary level (grades 9-12) in North America as a significant part of their academic responsibilities for three years out of the five prior to the award. Membership in the SCS is not a requirement for application, although it is expected that applicants will have demonstrated an active interest in the profession and in their own professional development. Selection will be made on the basis of written applications by the Coffin Fellowship Committee. The amount of the award for 2024 will be $4,270. Recipients of the award will be expected to file a written report on their use of the Fellowship, which the Society may include in one of its publications.

Applications should consist of a) a curriculum vitae; b) a statement of how the Fellowship will be used and how it will further the applicant’s teaching; c) three letters of recommendation, at least one of them from the applicant’s chair or principal, and at least one from a former student. The applicant should submit the curriculum vitae and statement; the three referees should submit their letters directly. All materials must be received no later than 5:00 p.m. (Eastern Time) on February 16, 2024.

The process for submitting applications will be different in 2024-2025 than in past years. To apply, please submit an application through our award, fellowship, and grant application system, which will be opening in August 2024. At that time, please check this page for a link to the application system.

2024 winner - Dawn Mitchell

2023 winner - Madeleine Kersey

2022 winner - April Spratley

2021 winner - Robert Amstutz

2020 winner - Nathalie Roy

2019 winner - Christina Alvarez

Read the citation for the 2018 winner

Read the report of the 2017 winner

Read the citation for the 2016 winner

Read the citation for the 2015 winner

Read the report of the 2014 winner

Read the citation for the 2014 winner

Read the report of the 2013 winner

Read the citation for the 2013 winner

Read the report of the 2012 winner

Read the citation for the 2012 winner

Read the citation for the 2011 winner