Become a Member

The Society for Classical Studies (SCS) invites college and university departments offering programs in classical studies to become departmental members. The Society instituted this category of membership as a way of giving recognition to those departments that are willing to support the entire field while they do the essential work of passing on an understanding of classical antiquity to each new generation of students. Departmental members will be listed on the Society's web site, in an issue of the Society's Newsletter, and on a page in the Annual Meeting Program. The SCS will issue outstanding achievement awards to students designated by the department. Departmental members will also be able to obtain certain SCS publications and other benefits at no charge, and they will support two important international classics projects in which the SCS participates: the American Office of l'Année philologique and its fellowship to the Thesaurus Linguae Latinae (TLL). Departmental dues revenue that exceeds the value of benefits received will be used to support these two projects and, in the case of the TLL Fellowship, will make the SCS eligible to receive matching funds from the National Endowment for the Humanities (NEH) which is currently the major supporter of this project.

Click here to download a form to purchase Departmental Membership for 2015. Departments may select a membership category that corresponds to the highest academic degree that each one offers. However, departments selecting the higher Supporting or Sustaining categories will enable the Society to claim additional matching funds from the NEH so that the Association can focus its fund-raising efforts on programs like annual giving. The listings of member departments give appropriate recognition to those selecting the higher levels. Organizations other than academic departments that support the study of classical antiquity may become departmental members upon approval by the SCS Board of Directors.

As of December 8, 2014, the following departments were participating in the program for 2014.

Brown University
Cornell University
University of Texas at Austin
University of Washington

Brandeis University
Dickinson College

Ph.D.-granting Institutions
Florida State University
The University of Western Ontario
University of Buffalo
University of Chicago
University of Cincinnati
University of Colorado Boulder
University of Florida
University of Iowa
University of Minnesota
University of Missouri
University of Pennsylvania
University of Southern California
University of Wisconsin Madison

M.A.-granting Institutions
Boston College
Brock University
Case Western Reserve University
University of Georgia
University of Kentucky
University of Maryland College Park
University of North Carolina Greensboro
University of Notre Dame
University of Oregon

B.A.-granting Institutions
Arizona State University
Baylor University
Calvin College
Carleton College
Carthage College
College of William and Mary
Emory University
Eta Sigma Phi
Grand Valley State University
Grinnell College
Gustavus Adolphus College
Hillsdale College
Loyola University of Chigago
Monmouth College
Northwestern University
Oberlin College
Reed College
Rice University
St. Olaf College
Trinity University
University of Mary Washington
University of Miami
University of North Carolina at Asheville
University of Oklahoma
University of Rochester
Vassar College

Share This Page

© 2020, Society for Classical Studies Privacy Policy