Skip to main content

The Society for Classical Studies will present the following awards at the Plenary Session of its 146th Annual Meeting in New Orleans. Click on the link in each winner’s name or project to read the award citations.

Charles J. Goodwin Award of Merit (for three outstanding contributions to classical scholarship published by members of the Association within the preceding three years)

Robert L. Fowler, University of Bristol, Early Greek Mythography. Vol. 2: Commentary. Oxford University Press, 2013.

Edith Hall, King’s College London, Adventures with Iphigenia in Tauris: A Cultural History of Euripides’ Black Sea Tragedy. Oxford University Press, 2013.

Tim Whitmarsh, University of Cambridge, Beyond the Second Sophistic: Adventures in Greek Postclassicism. University of California Press, 2013.

Outreach Prize (for outstanding projects or events by an APA member or members that make an aspect of classical antiquity available and attractive to an audience other than classics scholars or students in their courses)

Robert B. Strassler, Great Barrington, MA, Landmark Ancient Histories

Award for Excellence in the Teaching of Classics at the College Level

Jennifer Sheridan Moss, Wayne State University, Detroit, MI

Timothy F. Winters, Austin Peay State University, Clarksville, TN

Awards for Excellence in Precollegiate Teaching

To be announced during the week of December 22

The Plenary Session will take place at 5:00 p.m. on Saturday, January 10, 2015, in the New Orleans Sheraton Hotel.