Skip to main content

Updated January 2, 2016

The Society for Classical Studies will present the following awards at the Plenary Session of its 147th Annual Meeting in San Francisco. Click on the link in or to the right of each winner’s name to read the award citations. Citations for the Precollegiate Teaching Award will follow shortly.

President’s Award (honors an individual, group, or organization outside of the Classics profession that has made significant contributions to advancing public appreciation and awareness of Classical antiquity).

Eric Hewett and Jason Pedicone for the Paideia Institute.

Distinguished Service Award (occasional rather than annual awards to recognize extraordinary service to the profession of classics and the Society for Classical Studies)

Adam D. Blistein

Donald J. Mastronarde

Charles J. Goodwin Award of Merit (for three outstanding contributions to classical scholarship published by members of the Association within the preceding three years)

Joshua Billings, Genealogy of the Tragic: Greek Tragedy and German Philosophy (Princeton, 2014)

Jackie Elliott, Ennius and the Architecture of the Annales (Cambridge, 2013)

Emily Mackil, Creating a Common Polity: Religion, Economy, and Politics in the Making of the Greek Koinon (Berkeley; Los Angeles; London, 2013)

Outreach Prize (for outstanding projects or events by an APA member or members that make an aspect of classical antiquity available and attractive to an audience other than classics scholars or students in their courses)

Amy R. Cohen, Randolph College, Reviving a tradition of historically informed, outdoor performances of classical Greek drama at the College

Award for Excellence in Teaching at the College Level

Antony Augoustakis

Sophie Mills

Karen Rosenbecker

Awards for Excellence in Precollegiate Teaching

Brandtly Jones

The Plenary Session will take place at 5:00 p.m. on Friday, January 8, 2016, in the Hilton San Francisco Union Square Hotel.