You are here

Call for Nominations for 2010 Goodwin Award

The Charles J. Goodwin Award of Merit, named in honor of a long-time member and generous benefactor of the American Philological Association, is the only honor for scholarly achievement given by the Association.  It is presented at the Annual Meeting for an outstanding contribution to classical scholarship published by a member of the Association during the three years before the current calendar year, in this case, 2007, 2008, and 2009.  Candidates to be considered must have been continuous APA members for the three previous years (since 2007). The APA office will verify the membership of authors.

The work chosen to receive the award may be a book, monograph, or article, provided that it has not appeared in substantially the same form in earlier publications.  It is selected by the Committee on the C. J. Goodwin Award of Merit, which consists of three elected members. Because of the increased number of scholarly publications, the Committee is now empowered to make two awards and, for the same reason, particularly appreciates nominations across all areas of Classics:  

Letters of nomination are due by June 4, 2010,and should be sent to the APA Office, 292 Claudia Cohen Hall, University of Pennsylvania, 249 S. 36th Street, Philadelphia, PA 19104-6304.  Publishers wishing books to be considered by the Committee should send three copies to the address above by the deadline of June 4, 2010.

Share This Page

© 2019, Society for Classical Studies Privacy Policy