You are here

List of Previous Outreach Prize winners

Herbert Golder, Boston University, Editor-in-Chief of Arion
Ann Olga Koloski-Ostrow, Brandeis University, The Examined Life: Greek Studies in the Schools

Roger T. Macfarlane, Brigham Young University, Television Documentary, "Out of the Ashes: Recovering the Lost Library of Herculaneum"

Marianne McDonald, University of California at San Diego, A body of work that brings the beauty and power of classical drama to general, non-professional audiences

Michele Valerie Ronnick, Wayne State University, A body of work describing the experiences of Black Classicists in the post Civil War period

Steering Committee for the University of California Multi-Campus Research Group in the History and Culture of Late Antiquity, Teaching materials on late antiquity for middle school social studies classes

No award

Mary-Kay Gamel, University of California at Santa Cruz, for translating, reconceptualizing, and staging Greek and Roman plays for diverse modern audiences for more than twenty years

Peter Meineck, Aquila Theatre Company/New York University, for the Theatre's program, Page and Stage:  The Power of the Iliad TodayRead the citation here

No award

James T. Svendsen, University of Utah, for his work with the Classical Greek Theatre Festival of Utah.  Read the citation here.

Rob Ketterer, University of Iowa, for an interdisciplinary conference entitled “Re-Creation: Musical Reception of Classical Antiquity”

Robert Strassler, Great Barrington, MA, for conceiving, initiating, and editing the Landmark Ancient Histories.

Amy R. Cohen, Randolph College, for reviving a tradition of historically informed, outdoor performances of classical Greek drama at the College

Brett Rogers and Benjamin Stevens, for their work on Classical Traditions and Science Fiction

Share This Page

© 2019, Society for Classical Studies Privacy Policy